new york post

It’s been a while since I posted anything besides music videos but life has been a bit crazy. Applying for jobs, presenting my thesis proposal and trip to NY for three weeks. How did a gal with very limited funds get to NY, you may ask. As the Flight of the Conchords say, when you’re unemployed there’s no vacation. Unless you take a working vacation.

Good friends have gone on a real vacation to Malaysia so I’m here dog and house sitting. No expensive hotels; just their beautiful home (which is nicer than any hotel I know of, quite frankly). No fancy restaurants; rather, a fully stocked kitchen. No chi chi yoga classes; instead, long walks with the cutest corgi on planet. Very relaxing, getting lots of school work done, having a nice visit with a friend who has come from Montreal for a few days, enjoying the fall foliage and sunny days.

Oh ya, and shopping.

I got an unexpected top-up on my scholarship immediately before leaving and I’m basically spending it all. I’ll post more on Black Friday after the event but there are “amazing deals” to be had and I’m taking advantage of them. In a restrained way.

I posted previously about my need for a new winter coat. My current coat is from J Crew and it lasted 10 years before it started falling apart. I have looked extensively in Winnipeg for a wool coat with a Thinsilate lining and haven’t found any. The lining means I can wear it much longer into the season before switching to my parka, and it is also nice to have a coat that is warm enough for dressing up in the middle of winter. Thinking specifically of going to church with my mom on Christmas. Though I suppose a parka over a fancy dress is a classic Canadian look. Anyway, given that the dollar is more or less on par right now…

Canadian price: $390
U.S. price: $335 – $83.75 (25% Black Friday discount) = $251.21
Difference: $138.79

Will also be purchasing the aforementioned much needed underwear. And my Christmas shopping is done (not that I usually go crazy with the Christmas gifts). Have bought a few other things but sticking to, well, if not needs, then very practical purchases. I have avoided temptation (and trust me, there is plenty of temptation in NY!) the easiest way I know how…. by simply not going into those stores or looking at their websites.

Leave a Reply

