little free library

Schoolhouse Library 273 Mandeville Street, Winnipeg

Schoolhouse Library
273 Mandeville Street, Winnipeg

A few weeks ago, a friend introduced me to the Little Free Library. Why didn’t I know about this?!? Probably because I was too busy using the regular library, which is also free.

The mission of the Little Free Library is much the same as the regular library: promote literacy, build community and make libraries accessible. In a place like Winnipeg where libraries are accessible, the Little Free Library seems more like a novelty than something that is filling a gap. I don’t mean that as a criticism. I took a book and I’ll drop a few off the next time I get together with my friend. But I can see that in areas with limited library services they would be incredibly important.

I kinda want one in my front yard!

Leave a Reply

