gratuitous kitten post

My little gal turns 17 sometime around now. She showed up in an April snowstorm in 1998 as a tiny kitten. Like palm sized kind of tiny. She’s still a wee cat, weighing in around 6 lbs, but size is not a measure of worth. She’s my therapy, my entertainment, my alarm clock, my constant companion. Together, we’ve lived in eight different places in three cities, with twelve roommates (not including O or my mom), three other cats, two dogs, and five foster dogs. She’s been a trooper through it all. She has cost $348.99 so far this year (yep! I keep a budget) and probably thousands overall, but I consider every cent of it well spent.

Cleo’s here with me on this latest adventure, while my other cat and dog stay with my mom in Manitoba, because she has kidney failure and requires special care. I have no idea how much longer we’ll be together but I hope it is many, many more months. And money will not be the reason we part. In two decades that have seen a lot of upheaval, she has been a source of stability and comfort. If it doesn’t sound too sucky to say, I don’t know how I would have managed moving here without her. And so, without further ado…. pictures! Really, this whole post is just an excuse to post pictures of my cat. I wish I had some baby pics but they are all in a box in my mom’s basement so you’ll just have to imagine how big her ears were.

cleo loves the sunny spots  (me too!)

cleo loves the sunny spots
(me too!)

one of seven million pictures of cleo and rufus spooning

one of seven million pictures of cleo and rufus spooning

cautiously exploring our new back yard

cautiously exploring our new back yard

Leave a comment